Registrars of Voters

The Registrars of Voters are responsible for conducting elections, primaries and special elections and maintaining accurate voter records. Other activities include canvassing and registering voters, and having special voting sessions.


  • Kevin T. McCarthy (D)
  • Colleen Depercio (R)

Deputy Registrars:

  • Lauren Olson (D)
  • Sue Cowen (R)

Contact Registrars of Voters:


860.487.4430 Fax

Click here to email Ashford Registrars of Voters

For State of Connecticut Online Voter Registration System click here

For State of Connecticut Voter Registration Lookup click here

To Register to Vote:

Final Day to register to Vote for Nov. 7 Municipal Election is October 31, 2017 
On November 6, 2017, the Registrars of Voters will hold a limited registration session to admit those seeking to vote whose qualification as to age, citizenship, or residence was attained since October 31, 2017.  Please bring an ID and proof of Ashford residency.

November 7, 2017 – Municipal Election – Voting is held at Knowlton Memorial Hall, 25 Pompey Hollow Rd, Ashford, CT from 6 A.M. until 8 P.M.  Please be prepared to show I.D.

Any Ashford registered voter may run for a municipal office and appear on the November 7, 2017 Election Ballot by obtaining the required number of signatures on Nomination Petitions which may be obtained from the Secretary of the State’s Office.  The total number of signatures of qualified electors required is equal to one percent of the total votes cast for the same office (or, if multiple-opening office, one percent of the total number of names checked as having voted) at the last preceding municipal election.  A particular signature page may have only one circulator.   Specific instructions for collecting the signatures are available from the Secretary of the State.  Signatures may be collected starting on the first business day of January in the year the office will be on the ballot.  The petitions must be returned to the Secretary of the State or the Ashford Town Clerk no later than 4 PM on August 9, 2017 (the 90th day preceding the election).  

Write-in candidate:  Any Ashford registered voter may apply through the office of the Secretary of the State to be a write-in candidate.  The individual’s name will not appear on the ballot and must be written in by each voter on the regular ballot or absentee ballot.  The dead line to register as a write-in candidate is 4 PM October 24, 2017 (14 days before the election).